Photo's, Miniatures, and More.. OHMY!

Roller Girl Part 1

Back in the mid 1990’s, I and many other miniature painters as well as sculptors belong to a what was then called the Visions In Color eGroup, later to become a part of Yahoo Groups when they bought eGroups in the late 1990’s. The group was the brain child of Dominic Heutelbeck a fellow miniature painter. Dominic would put together these miniature paint contest where everyone would buy the same miniature and paint it up, and then we would post our results to see how each of us as individuals saw the miniature in full living color. It also gave us an opportunity to learn from one another and made us each better artist because of it. If you do a Google search for Visions in Color (ViC) you’ll find many links to various paint challenges from back in the day. Dominic has his site back up after being down for a long time, many of the ViC and PiC challanges can be seen there. It was also where we all coined the term Figmentia, I being the longest list of symptoms on the old eGroup. ViC #3 I never posted my Ursa Suit even though I bought into the contest. it was packed in a storage shed in Boise ID for 10 years, only recently seeing the light of day when I stopped off on my way home from Pax Prime is Seattle and emptied that storage shed and brought the stuff back home to Texas, so plan to see that model in an upcoming post as well. 

A sculptor know as Bobby Jackson, posted a picture of Roller Girl all done up in pink, I was so amazed by the model I asked if I could get one… Weeks later a small package showed at my door with the miniature in a blister and a note card informing me to enjoy the miniature and he “Bobby Jackson” looked forward to seeing it painted. I have since thanked Mr. Jackson on multiple occasions, but have never gotten around to painting this miniature, mostly because she got packed in a box, and life sorta happened and she was forgotten. Recently I was unpacking stuff and deciding what to keep and get rid of, when under some papers was the Roller Girl still in her blister looking at me as if saying, “hey buddy how about you paint me now?” So tis week I plan to sit down and give the girl what she wants, some color. Bobby Jackson Sculpted Roller Girl, he has done work for Reaper Miniatures, and recently I have seen a line of miniatures in his name. Be sure to look him up as well, the man has great talent and has lots of knowledge to share. Many of the greats we see today, were all members and more social group back then.. I was lucky to have known them, learned from them, and talked with them at length as friends. So Bobby, I am living up to our deal.. Sorry it took this long. 

Stay tuned for Part 2, the unveiling of Roller Girl. 

Comments on: "Roller Girl Part 1" (1)

  1. I forgot to include the link to ViC – http://miniature-painting.net/visions

Leave a Reply

The Dimension Touring Company

For RIFT™ Dimension Lovers

Vampira Roma

Vampire: The Masquerade in Ancient Rome

Morashtaks Musings

A Place for BattleTech related Links.

Better Homes and Dimensions

by The Stylish Radish

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

Green Fairy Studios, LLC

Independent Game Publisher

Texas Games Con

Tabletop Games Deep in the Heart of Texas

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

D6 Painting & Gaming

Miniature painting and gaming from under the stairs

1001Up

1001 video games and beyond

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

